Back to work again

Moving has always been traumatizing for me. I dislike it greatly. Ask anyone who has had to watch me move and they’ll confirm that I’m not very good at it. I hate how it forces me to reflect on my life as manifested by my goods and objects. There’s a reason I put something in a box in my closet. It’s because I didn’t want to deal with it then. To have to deal with it now is worse. That being said, I have moved my studio space recently.

image

My new studio space is a work in progress. The vacuum is for cleaning the floor. I’m not going for that “Phish sound.”

20150521_080120

Getting the new space set up is fun, but I’m ready to get back to work!

Having this new space to work has taken some time to get built, but it’s finally done. It’s a finished garage space. It’s a big and open room, so that’s very nice. There’s a “lounge” area with a couch and TV. The rest of the space is dedicated to creative things (no bathroom, so not that kind of creativity). Now come the hard parts. First, I have to set it up to allow for creativity to happen easily. Then, I have to get myself in a state of mind to be creative. That last one can be difficult for me.

I’ve come to realize that when it comes to working on something, I really need to free myself, at least momentarily, from distractions and obligations. I can’t think about finances. I can’t think about my work to-do-list. I can’t think about dirty dishes. I really need to be able to free up my mind to get to the point where I can create things. This might sound obvious and dumb, but at the same time, I’m sure you can sympathize with how difficult setting up moments like these can be. There’s always something else that you should be doing, which usually means something done for someone else’s needs. One email or text can ruin a moment that took all day to set up for yourself. Being brought up to be obedient and think about others before me, I sometimes find it selfish and self-indulgent to carve out time for myself. At the same time, if I don’t, I’m rather pissy and unpleasant.

image

The new workdesk has plenty of room for various cables to interface in and out of the rig.

Let’s talk about the room now. I’ve been worried about the really live reverberation in the room. It’s hard to tell how things are going to sound in an empty room. Plus, I can hear some street noise. But now that most of the furniture is in the room, that echo has been tamed a bit. I set up my pro tools rig and started to record some parts for a new song I wrote a while back. I watched a few instructional videos a few days ago about how to mic drums, so I tried a new approach involving a stereo mic setup over the kit. I only have a draft of the song recorded, but the drums sound pretty good! I recently picked up a modified Gibson Falcon GA-19RVT which sounds fantastic with several of my guitars, especially the Reubencaster. The song I’m working on is a slide-based song, so I played the Reubencaster into that amp with some delay and it worked out great on the track. Now, I just have to shape up the lyrics and turn it into a real song. My first effort in my new music room. Here’s to hoping that it turns into something.

There remains a bunch of things to be done for the room. I need to continue to organize stuff. I managed to organize my CDs, which is no small task, but I have books, cables, and all sorts of other stuff I have to figure out where to place. This will probably take a decent amount of time since I have a bunch of other stuff in the queue. Still, it seems like the space works. I just need to carve out the time to work in it.

Leave a Reply

