After After the Laughter

The new album entitled After the Laughter has been posted. We are getting ready for its digital release by Max Recordings. Soon after that, we will be pressing a few physical CDs. Stay tuned for updates.

YHP_Laughter_Cover_Bandcamp_1400_72

For those of you who like to know the Behind the Music type details, here are a few.

  • I think that’s pretty obvious that I was listening a lot to records by Bobby Charles, Ry Cooder, and NRBQ when I wrote this album.
  • There was a conscious decision to include more backing vocals on this record.
  • The backing vocals on ends of I Was Wrong, I Ain’t No Poet, and The Pills Are Different Now are inspired by those on Randy Newman’s “I Love L.A.”
  • Jason and I are uncredited for playing piano and vibes, respectively, on the title track, After the Laughter.
  • The verses for Stayed On Too Long were originally in a song I wrote called We Lost .
  • Many of the chord changes in these songs were intentionally kept simple, but I tried to use non-obvious key changes as a mode for sophistication.

So that’s just a little bit of extra information about this record. If you give it a listen, I hope you like it. It was definitely fun for me to make.

Leave a Reply

